Mixing tangs

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mixing tangs

Hey every one. This is my first post. I'm a beginner hobbyist. And this is my first post and first day on cora. DT 125 gallon. Frag tank 50 low boy zoomed. Quarantine tank 55 gallon. I have done a lot of research and watched a lot of videos on mixing tangs. I know that the best chances of success is to add them all to your dt tank. at the same time as juveniles. And to mix different tangs for different color body shape and subspecies. Example. Yellow tang. Regal tang. Naso tang. Kole tang. Are all different families. I also have researched Tang aggression clown Tang. Powder Blue Tang. Purple tang are on the aggressive side. While Naso. regal blue are on passive side. I also have read that you can keep mixed tangs for years with no problems but once they are fully matured they may suddenly become aggressive towards each other or will immediately attack and kill any new fish added to the aquarium. After weeks of research I finally settled on the tangs I wish to attempt to keep in my 125. Here are the 3 I'm considering. Purple tang. Lavender Tang. And a powder blue tang or blue regal tang. I know that the blue regal tang will eventually outgrow my 125 but this will take a few years. Has anybody had any experience keeping a Powder Blue Tang or has anyone had any experience with the three tangs I'm attempting to keep in my 125. I would love to hear your thoughts and suggestions on this issue thank you. BILL DEE.

For a 125 personally I think 3 is to many. I have 2 in my 240 and I'm hoping not to have issues later down the raod. I have a Purple and a Chevron. Been together for about 3 years. The chevron is the larger of the 2. She's been in the tank for close to 6 years.

Comment

​ suggested tang tank size

Comment

IMO I'd say a 180. Doesn't sound like a huge difference but again IMO the front to back space makes a big difference. A 150 doesn't have the length but would have the depth.