8G low tech Caribbean tank build

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 8G low tech Caribbean tank build

Well, it's a start. As stated in my intro post, I've been keeping reef tanks for about 10 years with a recent two year break. I'm getting back into it but trying to keep it simple this time. This is a JBJ 8g all-in-one that I plan on keeping stock with the addition of a Koralia nano pump (hidden behind rockwork). Plans are one or two captive-bred gobies, zoanthids, palys, mushrooms, and maybe a photosynthetic gorgonian when the tank gets well established. Planning on keeping it Caribbean themed so I have some focus- unlike my previous tank. For now it just has 8lbs of Bulk Reef Supply dry rock with a couple of small live rock pieces to seed it.

DSC_1126 on Flickr

Next I need some sand. I wish stores sold something other than 20lb bags. I probably need about 3lbs. I like to keep the sand minimal but can't quite do bare bottom.
    Last edited by Philly Frag; 09-16-2017, 03:12 PM.

That looks great! Are you going to be doing the goby /pistol shrimp pairing?

Comment

I have some sand laying around, but you'll need to wash it.

Comment

That is a nice offer that I might take you up on. I see you're in Clintonville, I'm not far away in Dublin. Having trouble sending a PM, maybe because I'm not a paying member yet or too few posts.

Comment

Looks like an awesome start!

Two recommendations:

I have a 10 month old IM Fusion 10 in my office at work. I highly recommend having an ATO. Keeping your salinity stable is a must for the health of the inhabitants, and with such a small volume, evaporation can mean major swings.

I keep mainly shrooms, ricordea, and zoas, a yellow coral banded shrimp, pistol shrimp, and pom pom boxer crab. I feed a few pellets twice per week. I run a Poly filter, GFO, and carbon but no skimmer. I have come to the realization that if I don't do weekly water changes (2 gallons) I start having excess nutrients.

Comment